

# Robert Foshko Memorial Scholarship 2017 SCRIPT COMPETITION

# Submit your script to win a \$1500 stipend and pitch meetings with industry professionals in Los Angeles.

Two winners will be announced by June 1
\* Scripts and nomination forms due by 5pm Friday, May 12, 2017.

#### **Robert Foshko**

For nearly three decades, two-time Emmy winner Robert Foshko taught screenwriting and television production at UT's Department of Radio-TV and Film. During that time, he established RTF's screenwriting curriculum, launched its graduate writing program, was a founding member of the Michener Center for Writers, and fundamentally advanced the television production curriculum to meet the rigorous and competitive standards of the business and creative practice of television. In so doing, he influenced and guided the education and careers of countless screenwriting and television students along the way.

Bob and his wife Sally established this scholarship to help support the kinds of screenwriting students he taught and mentored so well during his many years of service at the University of Texas at Austin.

#### **ELEGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS**

- Scripts must have been written for an RTF screenwriting course during the Spring '16 semester or later.
- Only feature-length screenplays and TV pilot scripts qualify. No TV specs will be considered.
- Screenplays must not have been previously submitted for past Longhorn Showcase Script Competition consideration.
- Winners of previous Longhorn Showcase Script Competitions are ineligible.

#### **SUBMISSION PROCESS**

- Email a pdf copy of screenplay with title, name, and contact info on title page. Send to: <a href="mailto:rtf-submissions@austin.utexas.edu">rtf-submissions@austin.utexas.edu</a> with the subject line: 2017 Foshko Script Contest [YOUR NAME].
- Complete attached nomination form. For consideration, the RTF screenwriting faculty member who supervised the class in which you wrote the script MUST sign the nomination form.
- Turn in signed nomination form either as a hard copy to Elana Wakeman's mailbox in the RTF department office (CMA 6.120A) or electronically (scan and send via email to rtf-submissions@austin.utexas.edu).

### THE 2017 Robert Foshko Memorial Scholarship for SCREENWRITERS

Department of Radio-Television-Film • The University of Texas at Austin 2504 Whitis Ave. Stop A0800
Austin, TX 78712-1067

#### FACULTY NOMINATION FORM

#### **Instructions to Applicant**

**Complete Part 1 of this form and then deliver it your RTF Faculty Nominator.** The RTF Screenwriting faculty member who supervised the class for which you wrote the script must sign this form. Student works will not be considered without an official nomination form.

All Nomination forms are due on 5 pm Friday, May 12, 2017 either as a hard copy placed in Elana Wakeman's mailbox in the RTF Mailroom (CMA 6.120A) or scanned and emailed to rtf-submissions@austin.utexas.edu.

## Part 1: Application Information (please print or type) First EID Telephone \_\_\_\_\_\_ E-mail \_\_\_\_\_ Address \_\_\_\_\_ City, State, ZIP\_\_\_\_\_ **SCRIPT INFORMATION** Script was written for: Course Semester/Year Faculty (must be Spring '15 or later) LOG LINE (1-3 sentences) RTF SCREENWRITING FACULTY ONLY Complete Part 2 of this form and return to student. Student work will be sent to the Selection Committee, which consists of faculty and selected staff. **Part 2: Nominator Signature**

Faculty Name (Printed)

Faculty Signature \_\_\_