movie lights

About Radio-Television-Film

As a top-ranked film school, we believe in helping our students follow their dreams as they master the art of filmmaking and prepare for fulfilling careers. Our holistic approach allows students to explore all aspects of film and media, including producing, directing, screenwriting, gaming, audio, lighting, editing and immersive experiences. While learning these practical skills, our students also become familiar with the historical, cultural, and global context of film and media, which serves as a foundation for compelling storytelling. Our faculty are leading academic and industry professionals who provide this fundamental knowledge along with the hands-on experience needed to succeed in an ever-changing media landscape.

In addition to a premier education, students at Moody College also benefit from a breadth of resources and a supportive and creative community, giving them a small school feel within a large and vibrant university and all while enjoying the dynamic culture of Austin, Texas. We invite our students to dream big. Because the possibilities are endless.


Best Public Film School


Undergrad Students


Graduate Students


Degree Programs

Brief History of the Department

In 1921, a radio station was established to conduct experimental work in radio communication, and by the 1930s what was probably the first television broadcast in Texas originated on this campus. This spawned an interest in an academic program in broadcasting. The first degree program in broadcasting began in 1939.

In 1965 the School of Journalism, the Department of Speech, and a newly formed Department of Radio-Television-Film became the three departments officially organized as the School of Communication. Construction of a three-building communication complex began in 1968, and the three Departments of Journalism, Radio-Television-Film and Speech Communication moved into new facilities in 1974.

In 1979, the School of Communication became the College of Communication. At official ceremonies in April 1982, the three buildings comprising the communication complex were named the Jesse H. Jones Communication Center in honor of Mr. Jones, founder of the Houston Endowment.

Office Hours

In Person 

Monday-Thursday: 9 am-5 pm CT
Friday: 9 am-2:30 pm  (Note: from 2:30 pm–5 pm, you can visit us through our virtual front desk. See below.)
Closed for UT holidays

Location: CMA 6.120


Mondy-Friday: 9 am–5 pm CT
Closed on UT holidays

ZOOM Meeting ID: 94420501281

You will be placed in the waiting room and let in by the host. Please be patient, and if you are unable to get through, call us at (512) 471-4191. 

Contact Us

Email: rtf-department@austin.utexas.edu
Phone: 512-471-4071
Main Office: CMA 6.120